Emergency Medical Services

Station #1

2430 Hwy NC 90 Taylorsville, NC 28681

Bethlehem Base

9110 Hwy 127 Taylorsville, NC 28681

Mission: To provide pre-hospital care and transportation to the victims of sudden illness or injury. We also provide medically necessary non-emergency ambulance transportation.

We have two bases in Alexander County. Our main station is located at 2430 Hwy NC 90 just east of Taylorsville. This base houses our administrative, billing, and training offices as well as two Paramedic crews. There is also a satellite base in the Bethlehem Community at 9110 Hwy 127, which houses one Paramedic crew.

Alexander County EMS employs 29 full-time employees and a number of part-time employees and provides service 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.


EMS Director: Doug Gillispie
Major: Jeff Sigmon (B-Shift)
Captains: Timothy Mann (A-Shift), Kevin Richards (C-Shift/Training Coordinator), Tommy Pennell (D-Shift)
Lieutenants: Dale Killian (A-Shift), Lewis Armentrout (B-Shift), Chris Helderman (C-Shift), Connie Meredith (D-Shift)
Field Training Officers: Wes Thompson (A-Shift), Trent Tedder (B-Shift), Daniel Sweat (C-Shift), Erik Smith (D-Shift)

Staff Medics

A-Shift: Jeff Weller, Tara Tedder, Anthony Grant, Brennan Moore
B-Shift: Philip McCurdy, Justin Deal, Martin Sinker, Kristen Johnson
C-Shift: Michael Poovey, Chad Cardwell, Jacob Cinnamon, Andrew Castle
D-Shift: Billy Killian, Jason Townsend, Daryl Corvin, Parks Harrington

HIPAA Notice of Privacy Practices