## ALEXANDER COUNTY INSPECTIONS CERTIFICATION AS TO STATUS OF LICENSURE LICENSED GENERAL CONTRACTOR

## FOR THE GENERAL CONTRACTOR TO SIGN:

I understand that I am signing this document under oath; I certify that I am making a truthful statement. I have read G.S. Section 87-14 as amended July 6, 1992, which is attached. I have entered into a construction contract where the cost of the undertaking exceeds \$30,000.00; the contract, whether written or oral, is in the exact name as listed with the North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors. I am not in a partnership (including any "joint venture" [unless in compliance with 21N.C.A.C. 12.0207]) with any unlicensed entity. I certify that I am presently licensed under the name \_\_\_\_\_\_\_ and under license number \_\_\_\_\_\_. My license is active and in good standing. I have filed all necessary renewal forms with the North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors which disqualifies me for a building permit.

I certify to The Alexander County Inspections that I have paid license tax(es) as required by the N.C. Department of Revenue; I have in effect all required workers' compensation insurance coverage. I have filled out the attached affidavit regarding workers' compensation and I agree to submit certificates of insurance coverage upon the request of the building inspector. I understand that I am responsible for ascertaining whether I am obligated by law to obtain workers' compensation insurance and to assure that our insurance coverage is adequate; I have made all reasonable inquires of the appropriate authorities and/or sought private legal counsel to assure that I am providing all workers' compensation coverage required by law.

I understand that a licensed general contractor must pay a \$10.00 fee upon applying for a residential permit pursuant to G.S. 87-15.5 "Homeowner's Recovery Fund " Act of North Carolina, \$9.00 of which the permitting official shall forward to the North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors for an injunction if I practice without a license as required by law. I also understand that, under North Carolina case law, an unlicensed practitioner may be barred from recovery of any civil damages if the job owner refuses to pay me.

I have been informed that any authority issuing a building permit to an unlicensed contractor where a license is required may be found guilty of a misdemeanor and I certify that this Department may rely on my statement as a truthful statement regarding the status of my license.

This is the day of	, 20
--------------------	------

NAME

TITLE

TELEPHONE NUMBER

SIGNATURE

9/2016

## **COUNTY of ALEXANDER**

## AFFIDAVIT OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION COVERAGE N.C.G.S. 87-14

The undersigned applicant for Building Permit #\_\_\_\_\_ being the

Contractor

Owner

Officer/Agent of the Contractor or Owner

4

hereby wavers under penalties of perjury that the person(s), firm(s), or corporation(s) performing the work set forth in the permit (mark all that apply) :

three (3) or more emplo ation insurance to cover th	ve obtained workers'
one or more subcontract	ve obtained workers'

has/have one or more subcontractor(s), who has/have no employees or have their own policy of workmen's compensation covering themselves,

has/have not more than two (2) employees and no subcontractors,

while working on the project for which this permit is sought. It is understood that the Alexander County Inspections Department issuing the permit may require certificates of coverage and/or waivers of workers' compensation insurance coverage prior to issuance of the permit and at any time during the permitted work from any person, firm or corporation carrying out the work.

Cor Marry Chie	
-	Come

Date: