Alexander County Board of Elections Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

What are the qualifications for registering to vote?

To register to vote in North Carolina, a prospective voter must meet all of the following qualifications:

- Must be a citizen of the United States.
- Must live in the county of his/her registration, and have resided there for at least 30 days prior to the date of the election.
- Must be at least 18 years old. A prospective voter can submit a registration form up to two years before his/her 18th birthday, if and only if he/she will be 18 at the time of the next general election.
- Have not been convicted of a felony, or if so, I have completed my sentence (including any probation, post-release supervision, or parole).
- Must rescind any previous registration in any other county or state.

How do I register to vote?

You must complete a <u>voter registration application</u>. When completing the application, applicants must provide their full name, residential address, date of birth, and citizenship status. In addition, the application must be signed pen to paper (electronic signatures do <u>not</u> count). After completion, the application should be mailed or delivered in person to the Board of Elections office.

What are my voting options?

Any person registered to vote in North Carolina and seeking to vote in election has several options available. A voter may avail himself/herself of any of the following methods to cast a ballot:

- A voter may vote absentee by mail. This entails requesting a ballot by completing a <u>state absentee ballot request</u> form, receiving and voting said ballot, and then mailing it back by a certain deadline.
- A voter may vote in-person during one-stop absentee (early) voting. This entails presenting at any early voting location in your county of residence, and casting a ballot in person.
- A voter may vote in-person on Election Day. This entails presenting at your specific precinct polling place and casting your vote on election day

Can convicted felons vote?

Once a person is convicted of a felony, they lose the right to vote in North Carolina until they have completed their sentence. This includes completing any aspect of their sentences in prison or jail, as well as any period of probation, post-release supervision, or parole associated with a felony sentence. If a person's period of felony supervision is over, they regain their voting rights, even if they have remaining debts associated with their sentence. For more information on voting rights for those in the North Carolina criminal Justice system, click here

What time do the polls open on Election Day?

All voting places in Alexander County are open 6:30am-7:30pm on Election Day.

What is a Primary Election?

A Primary Election is an election in which registered voters select a candidate they believe should be a political party's candidate for elected office to run in the General Election. You are only eligible to participate in a primary election of the political party for which you are affiliated.

If I register as an unaffiliated voter, can I vote in a primary election?

Yes. If you are an unaffiliated voter, you can choose to participate in either the Democratic, Libertarian, or Republican Primary, or you may request a non-partisan ballot. However, you must choose only one party's primary. Participating in a partisan primary will not affect your status as an unaffiliated voter.

What is Curbside Voting?

A qualified voter who can travel to a voting place, but cannot enter the voting enclosure to vote in person without assistance (whether because of age or physical disability or physical barriers at the voting place) is allowed to vote in the vehicle that conveyed him or her to the site. Every One-Stop Site and Election Day Polling Place provides spaces outside the voting place dedicated to curbside voting.

Can anyone request an absentee ballot by mail?

Any registered North Carolina voter can request a mail-in absentee ballot. No special circumstance or reason is needed. This type of absentee voting allows a voter or a near relative or legal guardian to request that an absentee ballot be sent to the voter by mail. To make a request, the State Absentee Ballot Request form must be completed. Forms are available at the Board of Elections office and online at the Alexander County Board of Elections Webpage. The County Board of Elections must receive completed request forms no later than 5:00pm on the Tuesday before the election.

What is One-Stop (Early) Voting?

One-stop absentee voting (commonly known as "early voting") allows any registered voter to cast an absentee ballot in person on select days prior to Election Day. One-stop voting begins on the third Thursday prior to Election Day and ends on the last Saturday before Election Day. Unlike on Election Day, when registered voters can only vote at their specific precinct, one-stop voting allows registered voters to vote at any one-stop absentee voting site in the county. Click here to find one-stop voting sites

What is Same Day Registration?

Same day registration permits individuals who are not registered in a county to register and vote at the same time during the one-stop early voting period. Same-day registrants must attest to their eligibility and provide proof of residence. For additional information on same day registration, click here.

If I am in the military or live overseas, how do I vote absentee?

Absent uniformed services members (and their eligible dependents) and U.S. citizens living outside of the United States may request an absentee ballot under the Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act (UOCAVA). This federal act and its corresponding law in NC allow uniformed service members and overseas citizens who are absent from Alexander County to request, receive, and return an absentee ballot under special rights. For additional information, visit the NC State Board of Elections website.

How Can I Become an Election Day Worker?

Please Visit the Alexander County Board of Elections website for information on becoming an Election Day worker.

What are the procedures for voting In-person?

Upon entering the voting enclosure, an election official will ask the voter to:

- State his or her current name
- State his or her current residence address
- Show valid Photo ID
- In a primary election, state the political party with which she or he is affiliated. If voter is unaffiliated the voter must state which party's primary he or she wishes to vote

What about Voter Assistance?

A qualified voter seeking assistance at the voting place must provide his or her current name and address and request permission to obtain assistance, stating the reasons.

Any voter is entitled to assistance from a near relative, which state law defines as the voter's spouse, brother, sister, Parent, grandparent, child, grandchild, mother-in-law, father-in-law, daughter-in-law, son-in-law, stepparent, or Stepchild, as chosen by the voter. The voter need not be disabled to receive such assistance.

A voter in any the following categories is entitled to assistance from a person of the voter's choice, excluding the voter's Employer or agent of that employer or an officer or agent of the voter's union:

- A voter who, due to physical disability, is unable to enter the voting booth without assistance.
- A voter who, due to physical disability, is unable to mark a ballot without assistance.
- A voter who, due to illiteracy, is unable to mark a ballot without assistance.
- A voter who, due to blindness, is unable to enter the voting booth or mark a ballot without assistance.

Voters who request assistance at one-stop voting sites are entitled to the same assistance as voters on Election Day. There is no prohibition against a candidate assisting a voter if the voter is entitled to assistance. There is also no prohibition against a person assisting multiple voters if those voters are entitled to assistance.

What about Electronic Devices inside the Voting Place?

Voters are allowed to have phones or electronic devices with them while voting as long as those devices are not used to photograph a ballot or communicate with anyone via voice, text, email or any other method.

Photographing a marked ballot is illegal in part because such photographs could be used as proof of a vote for a particular candidate in a vote-buying scheme. Electronic communication while voting is prohibited because of limits on voter assistance and to prevent disruptions in the voting enclosure.

Voters may bring voting guides, notes and other materials into the voting booth. They also may use electronic devices to access a slate card or candidate information, provided that they don't use devices to communicate with anyone.

Where am I allowed to place political signs and advertising?

Please see the <u>Electioneering and Political signs</u> handout. It has detailed information regarding electioneering and the placement of political signage.